Statement on the Honoring of SJP at Tufts University


April 24, 2020

Contact: Avi D. Gordon, Executive Director Alums for Campus Fairness

917-512-4585, [email protected]


Alums for Campus Fairness at Tufts University (ACF-Tufts) is appalled that Students for Justice in Palestine (SJP) was awarded the 2020 Collaboration Award by the Office for Campus Life. 

President Anthony Monaco’s statement in response to this award, which was published this afternoon, exemplifies the leadership that the Jewish community needs. We will hold the Tufts administration to Monaco’s words: “We as senior leaders take responsibility for this outcome, which should not have happened, and recognize that the award has caused a great deal of pain and concern for Jewish members of our community and others who share concerns about SJP’s policy positions, particularly in light of rising anti-Semitism in the U.S. and around the world.”

Before Monaco’s statement, SJP lauded this award as representative of their efforts in promoting their Deadly Exchange campaign. This campaign has been widely condemned as antisemitic, because it scapegoats Israel and Jewish groups for police brutality against people of color in America. We must not allow BDS, Deadly Exchange, or other vehemently antisemitic campaigns to promote disunity across campus and isolate the Jewish community. Monaco’s statement is a strong step towards uniting our alma mater.

We would like to thank Tufts Hillel and Tufts Friends of Israel for their partnership. ACF-Tufts fully supports the Jewish community at our alma mater and we will continue to be actively engaged in ensuring that the Tufts administration remains steadfast in their commitment to combat antisemitism.

About ACF: Alums for Campus Fairness (ACF) is America’s unified alumni voice on issues of antisemitism, demonization of Israel, and bigotry. With over thirty-five chapters, ACF positions thousands of alumni on the front lines of key issues at their alma maters and works to ensure that universities remain pillars of open dialogue and equal opportunity for all students. For more information, please visit